University of Vermont

College of Medicine

Vermont Medicine Magazine

This page has moved to here!

DEPARTMENT OF Surgery ~ 2015 Annual Report

Mitchell Norotsky, M.D., Chair

It has been an exciting and productive year for the Department of Surgery. We have welcomed new faculty in the divisions of Emergency Medicine, Cardiothoracic Surgery, Ophthalmology, Transplant, Urology, and General Surgery. In addition, we are pleased to announce the formation of our new Acute Care Surgery Division, with Division Chief Ajai Malhotra, M.D., overseeing the care of trauma patients, acutely ill general surgery patients, and surgical ICU patients. The newly formed division is designed to provide 24 hours per day/seven days per week in-house care in a timely manner for patients locally and throughout the University of Vermont Health Care Network.

The Transplant Division has developed a new program called The Vermont Antibody Working Group (VAWG). VAWG establishes a collaboration capable of bridging basic and clinical immunology, developing meaningful protocols that will impact clinical outcomes while contributing to the knowledge base of humoral immunity and transplantation.

The Department of Surgery continues to play an important role in the research and education missions of the College of Medicine and the University of Vermont. Surgery faculty published 69 peer-reviewed articles that span clinical, translational, and basic research. The significance of research being conducted in the department is underscored by the increasing level of extramural funding. Highlights this year include a $3.9 million, multi-year National Institutes of Health (NIH) Collaborative Research Grant awarded to Brian Sprague, Ph.D.; a Komen Foundation and a Mary Kay Foundation Grant awarded to Tom Ahern, Ph.D.; a two-year NIH Exploratory/Developmental Research Grant awarded to Jon Boyson, Ph.D.; and a two-year NIH High Priority/Short Term Project Grant awarded to Peter Zvara, M.D., Ph.D. In addition, our clinical trials program is expanding with clinical trials awarded to Julie Adams, M.D., Daniel Bertges, M.D., Peter Cataldo, M.D., and Kalev Freeman, M.D., Ph.D. The Division of Surgical Research, led by Dr. Boyson, has implemented a new research curriculum this year, which includes bi-weekly seminars led by research professionals in the College of Medicine.

The Emergency Medicine Research Associate Program (EMRAP), run by Dr. Freeman, has expanded to include three courses that introduce UVM students to the Emergency Department of our level 1 trauma center. Students learn the basics of clinical research while providing an infrastructure to support ongoing research studies at UVM and the UVM Medical Center. Staff member and instructor Mike O’Keefe of the EMRAP program is the author of the book titled Emergency Care, which is on its 13th edition and widely used by EMT programs nationwide.

The Divisions of Neurosurgery and Otolaryngology held the annual Skull Base Dissection course, sponsored by the New England Neurosurgical Society, in January, 2015. Participants from all of the New England Neurosurgery Residency programs are invited, as well as neurosurgeons from the Dominican Republic. The course provides training in endoscopic and open Skull Base Surgery.

Last modified December 05 2016 11:23 AM