University of Vermont

College of Medicine

Vermont Medicine Magazine

This page has moved to here!

DEPARTMENT OF Pathology and Laboratory Medicine ~ 2015 Annual Report

Debra G.B. Leonard, M.D., Ph.D., Chair

The Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine has had a productive year providing patient care at The University of Vermont Medical Center and regional hospitals; training graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, medical students, residents, and clinical fellows; conducting basic science and clinical research; and providing leadership through participation on local and national committees. Faculty have published 106 peer-reviewed papers, seven textbook chapters and one book, have given 68 presentations and 23 posters at conferences, submitted 42 funded grant applications, and taught 19 courses.

The department offers degree-granting research opportunities, a 12-month clinical training fellowship for UVM medical students (since 1956), a medical student and resident exchange program with four medical schools in Japan, and a research and education affiliation with the University of Maastricht.

Our department faculty and staff continue to receive accolades. Lin Kristiansen, MT (ASCP), received the UVM Medical Laboratory and Radiation Sciences Program Breen Award for excellence in medical technologist student teaching. The College of Medicine Class of 2017 recognized Rebecca Wilcox, M.D., with the Foundations Teaching Award, and Pamela Gibson, M.D., with the American Medical Women’s Association Gender Equity Award. Deborah Cook, M.D., was named the Connections Course Director, and Dr. Wilcox was named the Nutrition, Metabolism, Gastrointestinal System in Health and Disease Course Director. Dr. Wilcox and Tamara Williams, Ph.D., became Frymoyer Scholars for integrating genomics into the Vermont Integrated Curriculum. Department faculty comprise about a third of UVM College of Medicine Teaching Academy members, with Dr. Gibson and Doug Taatjes, Ph.D., inducted as Distinguished Educators, the highest level of achievement. Don Dukette from our Autopsy Service received a UVM Medical Center Vision Award for his care of our deceased patients and their families. Christina Wojewoda, M.D., was named an American Society for Clinical Pathology Top 40 Under 40 Pathologist. Russell Tracy, Ph.D., received the Distinguished Scientist Award from the American Heart Association. Finally, Debra Leonard, M.D., Ph.D., received the College of American Pathologists’ Lifetime Achievement Award.

Our faculty has obtained over $9 million in grant funding to study redox biology and pathology, asthma, pulmonary fibrosis, mesothelioma, breast cancer, thrombosis, cardiovascular disease, and improving laboratory test utilization. Nationally, faculty serve on the American Council for Graduate Medical Education, American Association of Blood Banks, American Heart Association, American Society of Clinical Pathology, American Society of Cytopathology, College of American Pathologists, Institute of Medicine, NHLBI, and NIH committees.

Last modified December 05 2016 11:22 AM