University of Vermont

College of Medicine

Vermont Medicine Magazine

DEPARTMENT OF Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences ~ 2014 Annual Report

Ira Bernstein, M.D. '82, John Van Sicklen Maeck, M.D. '39 Chair

The Ob/Gyn department has had one significant leadership transition over the last year. Elizabeth McGee. M.D., has assumed the directorship of both our division of Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility (REI) as well as REI fellowship training program. Within the Division of Gynecology Oncology, Anne Dougherty, M.D.’09, received a Frymoyer Scholar Award for her project “Development of global women’s health curriculum for medical students and residents”. This project is part of her initiative developing a global women’s health program for our Department, primarily in collaboration with Mulago hospital in Kampala, Uganda.

Also within the division of Gynecologic Oncology Elise Everett, M.D., was promoted to associate professor and graduated from the APGO Scholars and Leaders program. Dr. Everett also received several awards including the APGO Excellence in Medical Student Teaching Award as well as the Clinical Teacher of the Year Award from the Class of 2014. Cheung Wong, M.D., received the annual resident award for best teacher on the full-time faculty.

Within the division of Maternal Fetal Medicine, Marjorie Meyer, M.D., continues her clinical practice and research work examining the management of opioid addiction during pregnancy. She was an invited speaker outlining pain control in pregnancy in the opioid dependent population at the 2013 New England Perinatal Quality Improvement Network (NEPQIN). She was also invited to address the New England Institute of Addiction Studies and the Harvard Symposium on Addiction Medicine.

Several investigators within the division of Maternal Fetal Medicine, including Drs. Phillips and Meyer and Ira Bernstein, M.D., are all collaborating with members of the Department of Psychiatry examining methods to improve women’s health through behavioral interventions. Distinct National Institutes of Health funded studies target and examine strategies for optimizing weight gain in pregnancy in overweight and obese women (Phillips), facilitating contraceptive use in young, vulnerable opioid-dependent women (Meyer) and promoting maternal smoking cessation during pregnancy (Bernstein). Also within Maternal Fetal Medicine, Kelley McLean, M.D., was invited to speak to the NEPQIN to discuss thrombosis in pregnancy and best practices regarding their prevention, her primary area of research interest.

Elizabeth Bonney, M.D., director of the division of Reproductive Investigation was recognized by the UVM ALANA Center and received the Outstanding Club Advisor Award. Additionally Dr. Bonney completed her course work for the master program in public health with a concentration in quantitative methods at Harvard University this year.

Last modified January 28 2015 02:45 PM