University of Vermont

College of Medicine

Department of Pharmacology

This page has moved to here!


Annual Research Retreat

Each fall, the Department of Pharmacology gathers to celebrate research from its laboratories. This Retreat fosters interaction among various labs, encouraging professional cooperation and explaining the scope and breadth of their research. Individual and poster presentations, along with lively discussion, are enjoyed throughout the two-day Retreat. The Retreat is typically held at the Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe, Vermont, (click here for directions) and partially supported by contributions from MED Associates, St. Albans, VT.

The 2015 Annual Pharmacology Research Retreat was held on November 5th and 6th at the Trapp Family Lodge. Our guest speaker was David Kleinfeld, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor, Experimental Biophysics Endowed Chair, Department of Physics, at University of California at San Diego. "Cortical Blood Flow: From Vascular Topology to Vasomotor Dynamics".

Graduate Students and Postdocs giving presentations and displaying posters were judged for the Durwood J. Smith awards. Congratulations to our 2015 D.J. Smith Award winners:

  • Best Poster by an Undergraduate Student: Elizabeth Hughes and Qian Fang
  • Best Presentation by a Graduate Student: Majid Ahmed, MBChB, MRes., and Hannah Naughton
  • Best Presentation by a Postdoc: Abbie Chapman Johnson, Ph.D.
  • Best Poster by a Graduate Student: Kutibh Chihabi
  • Best Poster by a Posdoc: Osama Harraz, Ph.D.
  • Best Section Chair: Bolu Zhou

Past Retreats
Date Held Guest Speaker(s)
November 5-6, 2015 David Kleinfeld, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor, Experimental Biophysics Endowed Chair, Department of Physics, from University of California at San Diego
November 13-14, 2014 J. Kevin Foskett, Ph.D., Professor and Chair, Department of Physiology, from University of Pennsylvania
November 7-8, 2013 Kurt Beam, Ph.D. from University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus
Luis Fernando Santana, Ph.D. from University of Washington
November 6-7, 2012 Costantino Iadecola, M.D. from Weill Cornell Medical College
Edith Hamel, Ph.D. from McGill University
October 27-28, 2011 Anne Joutel, M.D., Ph.D from University Paris
Dale Pelligrino, Ph.D. from University of Illinois
October 28-29, 2010 Philip Haydon, Ph.D. from Tufts University School of Medicine
Andrew Marks, M.D. from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
Soren-Peter Olesen, M.D., Ph.D from Univeristy of Copenhagen
October 29-30, 2009 Avril Somlyo, Ph.D. from University of Virginia School of Medicine
John Garthwaite, Ph.D. from University College London
November 6-7, 2008 Richard Lewis, Ph.D. from Stanford School of Medicine
Richard Aldrich from University of Texas at Austin
November 1-2, 2007 Nicholas Standen, Ph.D. from University of Leicester
Robert Kass, Ph.D. from Columbia University
November 2-3, 2006 Michael mendelsohn, M.D. from Tufts University
November 3-4, 2005 David Clapham, M.D., Ph.D. from Harvard Medical School

Last modified June 10 2016 09:05 AM