University of Vermont

College of Medicine

Department of Pharmacology


Annual Research Retreat

Each fall, the Department of Pharmacology gathers to celebrate research from its laboratories. This Retreat fosters interaction among various labs, encouraging professional cooperation and explaining the scope and breadth of their research. Individual and poster presentations, along with lively discussion, are enjoyed throughout the two-day Retreat. The Retreat is typically held at the Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe, Vermont, and partially supported by contributions from MED Associates, St. Albans, VT.

The 2014 Annual Pharmacology Research Retreat will be held on November 13th and 14th at the Trapp Family Lodge. Our guest speaker will be J. Kevin Foskett, Ph.D., Chair of the Department of Physiology at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia.

The 2013 Annual Pharmacology Research Retreat (click for agenda) was held on November 7th and 8th at the Trapp Family Lodge. Our guest speakers were Kurt Beam, Ph.D. from the Physiology and Biophysics Department at the University of Colorado at Denver, and L. Fernando Santana, Ph.D. from the University of Washington. Additionally, this year we had a panel discussion on Career Paths with UVM Alumni Sharon Cawley, Ph.D., a Post Doctoral Scientist with Acceleron Pharma, Carolyn Ellenberger, Ph.D., Head of Operations with Novartis, and L. Fernando Santana, Ph.D., a former UVM postdoc.

Graduate Students and Postdocs giving presentations and displaying posters were judged for the Durwood J. Smith awards. Congratulations to our 2013 D.J. Smith Award winners:

  • Best Presentation by a Graduate Student: Yao Li
  • Best Presentation by a Postdoc: Thomas Longden, Ph.D. and Nuria Villalba-Isabel, Ph.D.
  • Best Poster by a Graduate Student: Eugene Cilento
  • Best Poster by a Posdoc: Thomas Dalsgaard, Ph.D.
  • Best Section Chair: Laura Director

Past Retreats
Date Held Guest Speaker(s)
November 7-8, 2013 Kurt Beam, Ph.D. from University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus
Luis Fernando Santana, Ph.D. from University of Washington
November 6-7, 2012 Costantino Iadecola, M.D. from Weill Cornell Medical College
Edith Hamel, Ph.D. from McGill University
October 27-28, 2011 Anne Joutel, M.D., Ph.D from University Paris
Dale Pelligrino, Ph.D. from University of Illinois
October 28-29, 2010 Philip Haydon, Ph.D. from Tufts University School of Medicine
Andrew Marks, M.D. from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
Soren-Peter Olesen, M.D., Ph.D from Univeristy of Copenhagen
October 29-30, 2009 Avril Somlyo, Ph.D. from University of Virginia School of Medicine
John Garthwaite, Ph.D. from University College London
November 6-7, 2008 Richard Lewis, Ph.D. from Stanford School of Medicine
Richard Aldrich from University of Texas at Austin
November 1-2, 2007 Nicholas Standen, Ph.D. from University of Leicester
Robert Kass, Ph.D. from Columbia University
November 2-3, 2006 Michael mendelsohn, M.D. from Tufts University
November 3-4, 2005 David Clapham, M.D., Ph.D. from Harvard Medical School

Last modified December 16 2014 12:19 PM