University of Vermont

Class of 2015’s McAvoy Receives Pharmacology Award

James McAvoy receiving the Durwood J. Smith Award

Second-year University of Vermont College of Medicine student James McAvoy has received the Durwood J. Smith Award for Excellence in Pharmacology from the UVM Department of Pharmacology. The award honors the memory of the late Durwood J. Smith, M.D., who served as chair of pharmacology at UVM from 1953 to 1975.

According to UVM Professor of Pharmacology Jack McCormick, Ph.D., Smith was committed to furthering understanding of the physiological and biochemical bases for use of drugs in clinical medicine, and had a keen interest in the emerging discipline of clinical pharmacology. His family established the award to honor his memory by honoring a student whose outstanding performance in pharmacology-related coursework portends outstanding performance in applying pharmacological principles to the treatment of patients. The Department of Pharmacology presents the award to the student in a given class with the highest aggregate performance in courses with major pharmacological content in the Foundations level of the Vermont Integrated Curriculum.

McAvoy is the 35th recipient of this award. As the awardee, he received an engraved plaque and an honorarium of $500 at a special luncheon held February 22, 2013 at the UVM College of Medicine.