University of Vermont

Medical Class of 2014 Marks Completion of Foundations with Celebration and Awards Event

William Raszka, M.D.
Professor of Pediatrics and Director of Attacks and Defences William Raszka, M.D., accepts the Class of 2014 Foundations Teaching Award at a ceremony held January 27, 2012, at the UVM College of Medicine.

Students in the University of Vermont College of Medicine's Class of 2014 held a celebration and awards reception January 27, 2012 to mark their completion of Foundations, the first of three levels in the Vermont Integrated Curriculum (VIC).

William Jeffries, Ph.D., senior associate dean for medical education, provided a welcome and introduction, acknowledging the substantial contributions of Cynthia Forehand, Ph.D., who recently stepped down after 10 years as director of Foundations. Jeffries credited Forehand with making the VIC “a major force in medical education in this country,” and called attention to the important role G. Scott Waterman, M.D., has played as associate dean for student affairs, serving as the chief student advocate at the College. Waterman will retire from his associate dean position and the UVM faculty on July 1, 2012.

“What a momentous milestone, your completion of the first level of the VIC,” said Waterman to students, adding that since their first day of medical school on August 10, 2010, members of the Class of 2014 have completed 13 courses and 38 exams. “Your achievements are a testament to the quality of the curriculum, but even more a testament to your intelligence and perseverance,” Waterman said.

Three members of the class – Richard Tan, Bianca Yoo, and Sarah Marsh – presented remarks as a tribute to Forehand, following which several students presented awards.

The Class of 2014 Foundation Awards and respective recipients announced at the event included:

Outstanding Foundations Course:
Cardiovascular, Respiratory and Renal Systems

Foundations Course Director Award:
William Hopkins, M.D., associate professor of medicine and course director, Cardiovascular, Respiratory and Renal Systems

Foundations Teaching Award:
William Raszka, M.D., professor of pediatrics and course director, Attacks and Defenses. The recipient of this award will be hooding the Class of 2014 at their graduation and will be recognized with other Teachers of the Year from the past.

The Dean Warshaw Integration Award:
Richard Salerno, M.D., assistant professor of pediatrics. This award recognizes the faculty member whose teaching best captured the spirit of the VIC.

The Silver Stethoscope Award:
Sharon Mount, M.D., professor of pathology. This award recognizes the faculty member who had few lecture hours, but made a substantial contribution to students’ education.

Above and Beyond Award:
Ellen Black, Ph.D., lecturer in anatomy and neurobiology. This award recognizes the faculty member (not necessarily a lecturer) who went above and beyond the call of duty to help the students in their learning objectives.

Best Support Staff (Non-teaching):
Aaron Hurwitz, VIC coordinator. This award recognizes the staff member who best supported students in areas besides teaching.

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award:
Steven “Sandy” Perrins, M.D., Class of 2011, surgical resident, Danbury Hospital, Conn.

In addition, Class of 2014 students presented American Medical Student Association (AMSA), American Medical Women's Association (AMWA) Student Chapter, Wellness Committee, and the first-ever Standardized Patient awards:

AMSA Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching:
William Hopkins, M.D., associate professor of medicine and course director, Cardiovascular, Respiratory and Renal Systems

AMWA Gender Equity Award:
Jean Szilva, M.D., lecturer in anatomy and neurobiology. This award honors a male or female faculty member who promotes a gender-fair environment for the education and training of physicians and gender diversity in the field.

Wellness Award:
Vanessa Patten, Class of 2014. This award recognized a student who went above and beyond to help class members and was noted for her “willingness to be present for those around her.”

Standardized Patient Award:
Ed Stone

In closing, students Michael Mollo and Vanessa Patten provided remarks about their experiences with Waterman. "From day one, he's taken the time to get to know me and all the students," said Patten. In response, Waterman said "Today is your day; it's been wonderful to share it with you."