University of Vermont

The College of Arts and Sciences

Department of History

roster

Department of History Faculty Roster

Fall 2014

Full-time Faculty (* May be assigned as Advisor)

BRIGGS, Charles (Charles.Briggs@uvm.edu)

(PhD, North Carolina, 1993; Lecturer)  Intellectual & cultural history of later medieval and renaissance Europe, world and early European history

BROWN, Dona (Dona.Brown@uvm.edu) (F14-SP15 Sabbatical Leave)

(PhD, Massachusetts 1989; Professor) Vermont, U.S., cultural

BUCHANAN, Andrew (Andrew.Buchanan@uvm.edu)

(PhD, Rutgers University, 2011; Senior Lecturer) US History, US Foreign Relations, US Military, Global History

CARR, Jacqueline (Jacqueline.Carr@uvm.edu

(PhD, U of California, Berkeley 1998; Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, Coordinator of Transfer Affairs, Study Abroad & Internships) British Colonial America, American Revolution, Early Republic, Women Early America

DESLANDES, Paul (Chair)  (Paul.Deslandes@uvm.edu)

(PhD, University of Toronto 1996; Associate Professor & Chair) Britain, gender and sexuality

ERGENE, Bogac (Bogac.Ergene@uvm.edu)

(PhD, Ohio State 2001; Associate Professor, Director, Middle East Studies Program, Acting MA Graduate Director) Islam and world

ESSELSTROM, Erik (Erik.Esselstrom@uvm.edu)

(PhD, U of California, Santa Barbara 2004; Associate Professor, Director of UVM Asian Studies Program)  China, Japan

FIELD, Sean (Sean.Field@uvm.edu)   

(PhD, Northwestern 2002; Professor) Medieval Europe

GRIMMER, Ian (Ian.Grimmer@uvm.edu)

(PhD, University of Chicago, 2010; Senior Lecturer and Acting Director of Integrated Humanities Program) Modern European Intellectual History

GUSTAFSON, Melanie (Melanie.Gustafson@uvm.edu) (F14-SP15 Sabbatical Leave)

(PhD, New York University 1993; Associate Professor) U.S. social, U.S. women, gender politics

HUENER, Jonathan (Jonathan.Huener@uvm.edu)

(PhD, Illinois, Urbana-Champaign 1998; Associate Professor, Acting Director, UVM Center for Holocaust Studies) modern Germany, Holocaust, Poland, 20th-century Europe

KORNBLUH, Felicia (Felicia.Kornbluh@uvm.edu) 

(PhD, Princeton University, 2000; Associate Professor & Director, Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies Program) post-1945 US, legal, women/gender, social welfare, disability history, and African American history

MASSELL, David (David.Massell@uvm.edu)

(PhD, Duke 1997; Professor) Canada, U.S., environmental, North American Indian

McCULLOUGH, Robert (Robert.McCullough@uvm.edu)

(PhD, Cornell 1993; Associate Professor) Historic Preservation, Architectural History and Historic Preservation Law

MCGOWAN, Abigail (Abigail.McGowan@uvm.edu)

(PhD, U of Pennsylvania, 2003; Associate Professor, CAS Director of Strategic Action Plans and Initiatives) South Asia, Visual and Material Culture

NICOSIA, Frank (Francis.Nicosia@uvm.edu)

(PhD, McGill University 1978; Professor) Raul Hilberg Professor of Holocaust Studies, modern German History and the holocaust

PHELPS, Nicole (Nicole.Phelps@uvm.edu)

(PhD, U of Minnesota-Twin Cities, 2008; Associate Professor)U.S. Diplomatic History, Gilded Age & Progressive Era, Habsburg Central Europe, transnational history

OSTEN, Sarah (Sarah.Osten@uvm.edu)

(PhD, U of Chicago 2010; Assistant Professor) Latin America, Mexico

SCHRAFSTETTER, Susanna (Susanna.Schrafstetter@uvm.edu) (F14 Leave)

(PhD, U of Munich, 1998; Associate Professor) modern and recent European History

STEINWEIS, Alan E. (Alan.Steinweis@uvm.edu) (F14 Leave)

(PhD, North Carolina, 1988; Professor, Director, UVM Center for Holocaust Studies)  Nazi Germany, Holocaust, Jewish

STILWELL, Sean (Sean.Stilwell@uvm.edu)

(PhD, York, Can. 1999; Associate Professor)  Africa

VISSER, Thomas (Thomas.Visser@uvm.edu)

(MS, Vermont 1986; Associate Professor and Director, Historic Preservation) Historic Preservation, Architectural Conservation

WHITFIELD, Harvey Amani (Harvey.Whitfield@uvm.edu)

(PhD, Dalhousie 2003; Associate Professor)  African North American

YOUNGBLOOD, Denise (Denise.Youngblood@uvm.edu)

(PhD, Stanford 1980; Professor) Russia and Eastern Europe, European cultural, film and history

ZDATNY, Steven (Steven.Zdatny@uvm.edu)

(PhD, U of Pennsylvania 1982, Professor) Modern France and Europe, cultural and social history

ZELKO, Frank (Frank.Zelko@uvm.edu) (F14-SP15 Sabbatical Leave)

(PhD, U of Kansas 2003; Associate Professor) Environmental History

As of 8/26/14