University of Vermont

The College of Arts and Sciences

Department of History

Davis Student Center

Ruth Boelsen Baird Award-Fall 2015

  • Emily Jeanne Hartman
  • Brendan James Hersey
  • Sarah Adeline Jauris

Paul D. Evans Scholarship Award-Fall 2015

  • Colby J. Fischer
  • Michelle Theresa Monette
  • Nicholas Raymond Southworth

Previous Evans Award Recipients

Paul D. Evans Prize Corecipients-Spring 2016

  • Erin Clauss
  • John Marchinkoski

Goran Prize Recipient in American History-Spring 2016

  • Newton Rose

Best Graduate History Essay Prize Recipient 2016

  • Robin Fitch-McCullough

Best Undergraduate History Essay Prize Recipient 2016

  • Will Fitz

Best Senior History Essay Prize Recipient-Spring/Fall 2015

  • John Marchinkoski

Fall 2016-Spring 2017 Honors Students

  • Hunter Colvin
  • Colby Fischer
  • Matthew Ganci
  • Max Kleiner
  • Kate Lipman
  • Julio Lopez-Linehan
  • Jacob Marks
  • Ryan McHale
  • Tom Oettgen
  • Sophia White

2017 Phi Alpha Theta Inductees

APLE Summer 2016 Stipend Recipient

Senior Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studiesmajor Pearl Weggler was recently awarded the highly competitive APLE Summer research grant from the CAS Dean's office, which provides $3000 to fund a summer research project. Working with Associate Professor of History and Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies Paul Deslandes, Pearl will be conducting research on a project titled,"Personal Ephemera and the Production of the Politicized Self". She is conducting this research under the supervision of Professor Deslandes as a result of his expertise on the history of gender, sexuality, and the body. Over the course of the summer, Pearl will be reading a broad range of theoretical work and reflecting on personal gendered and sexual subjectivities by reading critically her own diaries, childhood and adolescent ephemera, and private writings.

URECA! & College Summer Mini-Grant

Meghan Kendall, a History and Political Science major, won both a URECA! and a College Summer Mini-Grant.  She received support to conduct research in France during the summer of 2011, as a research assistant for Steve Zdatny, looking at portrayals of public and private hygiene in popular culture in France during the 1950s and 1960s.

Honors and Awards

Departmental Honors

Departmental Honors, which is a degree distinction, is awarded in accordance with the following procedure:

Professors nominate students who have submitted exceptional seminar papers (papers written for 200-level courses). Should a person wish to accept nomination, he or she will then revise that paper, if it needs revision, along lines suggested by the professor usually over the course of a semester long independent study.

Submission to the committee: Whether revised or not, that paper will be submitted to a committee of three professors from the department who will examine the candidate. This examination, which will be an oral interview and which will last about one hour, will not only probe the paper's thesis and the methods of investigation and analysis employed by the student, it will also ask the student to place his/her work into a larger historiographical context.

Upon successful examination: Upon successful examination, the student will be awarded Departmental Honors provided that he/she is a History major and has a graduating average in all History courses of at least 3.3.

College Honors

Students who have a GPA of at least 3.4 are eligible to apply for permission to undertake an honors research project during their senior year. Additional information is available in the Dean's office.

URECA! (Undergraduate Research Endeavors Competitive Awards)

The purpose of this program is to provide prestigious, competitive awards to outstanding undergraduates who wish to pursue a specific research project under the mentorship of a faculty member. In this way, undergraduates have the opportunity and resources to pursue independent research as well as work closely with active faculty members who are leading scholars in their fields.

Ruth Boelsen Baird Award

The Baird Award was established in 1998 by Mrs. Baird to be used to recognize deserving students in the History Department. Mrs. Baird graduated from UVM in 1942 with a double major in History and Psychology.

This award is given to the out-of-state senior history major with the greatest financial need and the strongest academic record as measured by overall grade point average and grade point average in History courses. The recipient of the award is recognized at the Honors Day ceremonies.

Paul D. Evans Award

The History Department annually recognizes its in-state outstanding graduating senior(s) with the Paul D. Evans Award for Excellence in History at Honors Day ceremonies.  Paul D. Evans had a distinguished career as a professor of history from the 1930s until his retirement in 1972.

This award is given to the in-state senior history major(s) with the strongest academic record as measured by overall grade point average and grade point average in History courses. Consideration is also given to the level of difficulty of the courses taken within the major.

2017 Phi Alpha Theta Ceremony and Induction

Was held in Waterman Bldg., Room 338, Memorial Lounge on Monday, April 10, 2017 from 4:00-6:00 pm

Phi Alpha Theta - UVM History Department Alpha Alpha Psi Chapter Requirements:

Undergrads: Seniors or Juniors with 15 or more UVM earned credit hours (5 classes) in history (rev. 4/16); 3.6 History GPA (rev. 4/10); 3.4 overall GPA

Graduate students: 15 or more UVM earned credit hours (5 classes) with 3.75 (rev. 4/10) History GPA

Further details are available from our Phi Alpha Theta Advisor, Professor Denise Youngblood. Additional information about the National Honor Society can be obtained at their website.

2017 Phi Alpha Theta Inductees

2017 UVM History-Phi Alpha Theta Group Photo taken-4.10.17 in Memorial Lounge Waterman 338.jpg

Daniella F. Bassi
Jennifer L. Hutton
Alison E. Bell
Max L. Kleiner
Christopher M. Demairo
Aaron Louis Kraus
Alexander Hampton Ellis
Kate V. Lipman
Colby J. Fischer
Jacob D. Marks
Rachel Katherine Fleming
Connor R. McLenithan
Henry Lawrence Gates
Solomon M. Polshek
Evan J. Haley
Jack F. Roberts
Timothy M. Heffernan
Quinn R. Salinder
Zachary C. Heier








Previously Inducted Phi Alpha Theta Members Can Be Reviewed By Clicking the Respective Year Link Below:

2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 1999, 1998, 1997, 1996, 1995, 1994, 1993, 1992, 1991, 1990

Last modified April 12 2017 10:42 AM