University of Vermont

The College of Arts and Sciences

Department of Geology


Chair's Message continued

Greetings from the corner office of Delehanty Hall. I am glad to announce that I have now survived three years as department Chair! As always, it has been a busy and productive semester.

We celebrate and congratulate our:

2013 Seniors,

Graduate students: Angel A. García Jr. and Megan Scott, and

seen and listed below, Honors and Awards winning students:

Abigail Ruksznis received the Charles G. Doll Award given to the most outstanding graduating senior in geology, is seen here with Andrea Lini, Geology Department, Chair.

Other Department Awards for Excellence.

Bucke: The David Bucke Award for Excellence in Introductory Geology

Recipient: Kaitlyn Vitez

Tinker: Arthur J. and Claire Heiser Joseph B. Tinker Memorial Grant

Recipient: Molly Conroy

Sigma Gamma Epsilon: UVM Chapter, Eta Kappa

Academic membership requirements:

A minimum G.P.A. of 2.67 overall

A minimum G.P.A. of 3.00 in Geology courses

List of 2013 Senior Sigma Gamma Epsilon Inductees

List List of Sophomores 2013 Inductees (no Fr. or Jr. this year)


Julija Cubins

Christina Marie Strathearn


Anne Gombosi

Danielle Hill

Tyler Mogk

Introducing a new award this past academic year and presented Spring 2013:

American Mineralogist Undergraduate Award:

The AMU Award, presented first time by the UVM Geology Department, for a student’s excellent performance in the course Earth Materials.

First UVM recipient: 2012 Max Nottke


Last modified May 31 2013 01:52 PM