University of Vermont

Center for Teaching and Learning

Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award

About the Award
On this page:
»Committee
»Past Recipients

The Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Awards recognize faculty for excellent instruction. They memorialize Robert H. and Ruth M. Kroepsch and her parents, Walter C. and Mary L. Maurice. Robert H. Kroepsch served as Registrar and Dean of Administration at UVM from 1946-56. His wife, Ruth, graduated from UVM in 1938 and her father, Walter Maurice, graduated from UVM in 1909. All four of them were teachers.

Areas considered for selection include:

  • Excellence in instruction (including learning experiences outside the traditional classroom)
  • Capacity to animate students and engage them in the pursuit of knowledge and understanding
  • Innovation in teaching methods and/or curriculum development
  • Demonstrated commitment to cultural diversity
  • Ability to motivate and challenge students
  • Evidence of excellent advising

Each recipient will receive $1,000.

Congratulations!

The 2015 Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients:

Professor: Keith Klepeis, Geology
Associate Professor: Stephen Pintauro, Nutrition & Food Sciences
Assistant Professor: Maria Mercedes Avila, Pediatrics
Lecturer: Matthew Kolan, Rubenstein Sch Env & Nat Res.

Please click the following links to read the recipients' teaching philosophies:

Keith Klepeis Teaching Philosophy
Steven Pintauro Teaching Philosophy
Maria Mercedes Avila Teaching Philosophy
Matthew Kolan Teaching Philosophy

The 2016 KM nominations are closed.
If you have any questions, please call 656-1155.




Back to top
Selection Committee:
Joan Rosebush, Math and Engineering, Committee Chair
joan.rosebush@uvm.edu
Chyi-Lyi (Kathleen) Liang, Department of Community Development and Applied Economics
chyi-lyi.liang@uvm.edu
Patricia Mardeusz, Bailey/Howe Library
patricia.mardeusz@uvm.edu
Diane Jaworski, Neurological Sciences
Diane.Jaworski@uvm.edu
Stephen Dempsey, School of Business Administration
Stephen.Dempsey@uvm.edu
Brenda Solomon, Education and Social Services
brenda.solomon@uvm.edu
Jennifer Sisk, English
jennifer.sisk@uvm.edu
Stuart Whitney, College of Nursing and Health Sciences
stuart.whitney@uvm.edu




Back to top


Contact UVM © 2015 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131