University of Vermont

Center for Teaching and Learning

Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award

About the Award
On this page:
»Committee
»Past Recipients
The Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Awards recognize faculty for excellent instruction. They memorialize Robert H. and Ruth M. Kroepsch and her parents, Walter C. and Mary L. Maurice. Robert H. Kroepsch served as Registrar and Dean of Administration at UVM from 1946-56. His wife, Ruth, graduated from UVM in 1938 and her father, Walter Maurice, graduated from UVM in 1909. All four of them were teachers.

Areas considered for selection include:

  • Excellence in instruction (including learning experiences outside the traditional classroom)
  • Capacity to animate students and engage them in the pursuit of knowledge and understanding
  • Innovation in teaching methods and/or curriculum development
  • Demonstrated commitment to cultural diversity
  • Ability to motivate and challenge students
  • Evidence of excellent advising

Each recipient will receive $1,000.

The 2015 KM nominations are closed. If you have any questions, please call 61155.

Congratulations!

The 2014 Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients:

Professor: Diane Jaworski, Neurological Sciences
Associate Professor: Taras Lakoba, Mathematics & Statistics
Assistant Professor: Rebecca Wilcox, Pathology
Lecturer: Sean Witters, English

The Provost's Office hosted the 2012 Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award reception on November 1, 2012 in Waterman Manor. Click here for the photos

The Provost's Office hosted the 2011 Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award reception on October 20, 2011 in the Davis Center. Click here for the photos

The President's Office hosted the 2010 Kroepsch-Maurice Excellence in Teaching Award reception on October 28, 2010 in the Davis Center. Click here for the photos


Selection Committee:
Joan Rosebush, Math and Engineering, Committee Chair
joan.rosebush@uvm.edu
Chyi-Lyi (Kathleen) Liang, Department of Community Development and Applied Economics
chyi-lyi.liang@uvm.edu
Patricia Mardeusz, Bailey/Howe Library
patricia.mardeusz@uvm.edu
Walter Poleman, Rubenstein School of Environment and Natural Resources
walter.poleman@uvm.edu
Stephen Dempsey, School of Business Administration
Stephen.Dempsey@uvm.edu
Brenda Solomon, Education and Social Services
brenda.solomon@uvm.edu
Jennifer Sisk, English
jennifer.sisk@uvm.edu
Stuart Whitney, College of Nursing and Health Sciences
stuart.whitney@uvm.edu




Back to top


Contact UVM © 2014 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131