University of Vermont

The CMT Group

Department of Physics: Condensed Matter Theory Group

Personnel

The Condensed Matter Theory Group is composed of three main faculty members who work with a group of dedicated students and post doctoral researchers in close collaboration with our experimental colleagues in the materials science program.

Open Positions

We are currently accepting applications for Ph.D. students in our group. Please click here to find out more.

Faculty

Dennis Clougherty

Dennis Clougherty

Nanomaterials, dissipation in quantum systems.
Dennis.Clougherty@uvm.edu
Office: Cook A405
Website

Valeri Kotov

Valeri Kotov

Graphene, quantum magnetism.
Valeri.Kotov@uvm.edu
Office: Cook A522
Website

Adrian Del Maestro

Adrian Del Maestro

Quantum Monte Carlo, quantum phase transitions, fluctuations in superconductors, disordered and low-dimensional systems.
Adrian.DelMaestro@uvm.edu
Office: Cook A523
Website

Postdocs

Chris Herdman

Dr. Chris Herdman

Quantum Monte Carlo, quantum information, topological phases.
Christopher.Herdman@uvm.edu
Office: Cook A417

Anand Sharma

Dr. Anand Sharma

Many body theory, quantum magnetism, strongly correlated electron systems, spintronics materials, quantum information physics, exact diagonalization and DMRG.
Anand.Sharma@uvm.edu
Office: Cook A517
Website

Graduate Students

Max Graves

Max Graves

Materials Science Ph.D. Program
Supervisor: A. Del Maestro
Max.Graves@uvm.edu

Undergraduate Students

Evan Border

Supervisor: A. Del Maestro

Adam Doherty

Adam Doherty

Physics B.Sc. Program
Supervisor: D. Clougherty
adoherty@uvm.edu

Alumni

Ian Goyette

Ian Goyette

Physics M.Sc. Program
Supervisor: D. Clougherty

Yanting Zhang

Yanting Zhang

Materials Science Ph.D. Program
Supervisor: D. Clougherty

Last modified November 05 2012 07:50 AM

Contact UVM © 2014 The University of Vermont - Burlington, VT 05405 - (802) 656-3131