Naresha Saligrama

Histamine Receptors in Central Nervous System Autoimmune Disease


I received my B. V. Sc & A. H degree (equivalent to DVM) from Veterinary College, Bidar, Karnataka, India in 2003. I also earned a master’s degree in Animal Biochemistry from Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar, Bareilly, India in 2006. I worked with Dr. Judy Van Houten and Dr. Bryan Ballif in the biology department before moving to Cell and Molecular Biology program in summer of 2007. I have done my dissertation work with Dr. Cory Teuscher.

Research Description

In our laboratory, we utilize forward genetics and map-based cloning approaches to identify novel genes controlling susceptibility and resistance to mouse models of human infectious and autoimmune diseases, such as multiple sclerosis (MS). The overall aim of my dissertation work is to elucidate the role of histamine receptors (H1R, H2R, H3R, and H4R) in the central nervous system autoimmune disease, MS and experimental allergic encephalomyelitis (EAE). My work has involved the generation of transgenic mice that express H1R specifically in myeloid cells (Cd11b promoter) and H2R specifically in T cells (dlck promoter). I also worked on a subproject, which resulted in the generation of double, triple, and quadruple histamine receptor knockout mice to address synergistic or compensatory functions of these receptors and to discover a novel HR.

Selected Publications

Noubade R, Saligrama N, Spach K, del Rio R, Blankenhorn EP, Kantidakis T, Milligan G, Rincon M and Teuscher C. Polymorphisms in murine histamine receptor H1 leading to differential cell surface expression influence autoimmune disease progression. J Immunol 2008;180(11):7471-7479.

Del Rio R, Noubade R, Subramanian M, Saligrama N, Diehl S, Rincon M and Teuscher C. SNPs upstream of the minimal promoter control IL-2 expression and are candidates for the autoimmune disease-susceptibility locus Aod2/Idd3/Eae3. Genes Immun. 2008;9(2):115-21

*Naresha S, *Suryawanshi A, Agarwal M, Singh BP, Joshi P. Mapping the complement C1q binding site in Haemonchus contortus calreticulin. Mol Biochem Parasitol. 2009;166(1):42-6. (*equal contribution)

Noubade R, Kremenstov DN, del Rio R, Thornton T, Nagaleekar V, Saligrama N, Spitzack A, Spach K, Sabio G, Davis RJ, Rincon M and Teuscher C. Requirement for P38 MAP Kinase in TH17-mediated autoimmune encephalomyelitis. Blood 2011;118(12):3290-3300.

Blankenhorn EP, Butterfield R, Case LK, Wall EH, del Rio R, Diehl SA, Kremenstov DN, Saligrama N, and Teuscher C. Genetics of experimental allergic encephalomyelitis supports the role of T helper cells in multiple sclerosis pathogenesis. Ann Neurol 2011;70(6):887-96.

*Del Rio R, *Noubade R, Saligrama N, Kremenstov DN, Poynter M, Zachary JF, Thurmond RL, Teuscher C. Histamine H4 receptor signaling optimizes TR cell frequency and facilitates anti-inflammatory responses within the CNS. J Immunol 2012;188(2):541-7. (*equal contribution)

Case LK, Toussaint L, Moussawi M, Roberts B, Saligrama N, Brossay L, Huber SA, and Teuscher C. Chromosome Y regulates survival following coxsackievirus B3 infection. G3 (Bethesda). 2012 Jan;2(1):115-21.

All Saligrama publications

Selected Awards

Jindal Merit Scholarship 2000-2004
Junior Research Fellowship of Indian Council of Agriculture research The combined All India Competitive Examination for admissions to master’s degree programs in the field of agriculture, veterinary and allied sciences and award of J.R.F, is conducted by the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR). The fellowships are awarded based on the merit in the entrance examination and can be availed in various Agricultural Universities, ICAR Institutes based Deemed-to-be-Universities, and other institutions. There are all total of 475 Fellowships (JRF) in 19 major subject groups. The Fellowships at present are at the rate of Rs. 8,000/- per month for graduates of Veterinary Science and Rs. 5,760/- per month for graduates in other disciplines for a period of two years with a contingent grant of Rs. 6,000/- per annum for all. 2004-2006
Second place, oral presentation, Graduate student research day 2010
American Association of Immunologists trainee abstract award This award provides $500 to AAI Trainee Members (students and postdoctoral fellows) whose first-author abstracts submitted to the AAI Annual Meeting are selected for presentation in Block Symposia. 2010
American Association of Immunologists trainee abstract award This award provides $500 to AAI Trainee Members (students and postdoctoral fellows) whose first-author abstracts submitted to the AAI Annual Meeting are selected for presentation in Block Symposia. 2011
Finalist, Art A. Hancock Young Investigator Award, European Histamine Research Society Award given by European histamine research society. The eligibility for the award will be judged by the Bursaries and Awards Committee, composed of Officers of the Society and Council members. The committee will select ca. 5 finalists, who will receive a certificate and a cash award and/or a prize. The finalists present their work at a 10 min oral presentation followed by a 5 min discussion. 2012
Travel Award This award is given to attend European histamine research society meeting to be held in Queens university, Belfast from May 1-8, 2012. Award is sponsered by GB West Memorial Trust. 2012

Contact Info


Office: C340 Given

Lab: C340 Given


   Cory Teuscher, Ph.D.

Upcoming Events

  • 7/7/2015 11:30 AM – 12:00 PM
    Davis Auditorium
    Laura Solomon
  • 7/7/2015 12:00 PM – 12:30 PM
    Davis Auditorium
    Phyu Thwe

Recent CMB Blog Posts