CAS Faculty Research Award Recipients

The Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences is pleased to announce the recipients of this year's faculty research awards:

Lattie F. Coor Faculty Development Awards

The Lattie F. Coor Endowment was created in 1992 to recognize the exceptional accomplishments of a President who served for 13 years at the University of Vermont, from 1976-1989. In keeping with Lattie Coor's humanistic values, his advocacy of liberal arts education, and his interest in the relationship of the Humanities and other disciplines, the Lattie Coor Endowment was established to encourage innovation and excellence in Humanities teaching and research, with special emphasis on multi-disciplinary initiatives.

This year’s nine recipients and their research projects are:

Faculty Research Support Awards

Each year the College of Arts and Sciences provides up to five Faculty Research Support Awards. The maximum amount per award is $15,000.

This year’s four recipients and their research projects are:

Joan Smith Award

One Faculty Research Award is reserved for research that must address, illuminate or seek to ameliorate a pressing issue of social injustice. This award, the Joan Smith Faculty Research Support Award, seeks to honor the memory of former College of Arts and Sciences Dean Joan Smith, and is made possible partially through the proceeds of an endowment established by her family, colleagues and friends.