University of Vermont

The College of Arts and Sciences
CAS Department Updates May 2010

CAS Department Updates for May 2010

Former Art History students of Associate Professor Kelley Di Dio have been furthering their education:

  • Maggie Contompasis ('07) is in her first year of Syracuse University's master's program in Florence, Italy with full funding.

  • Meghan Harcar ('06) completed her master's in Italian Renaissance art history with distinction at the Courtauld, London in 2009.

  • Ben Eldredge ('06) received his master's and has now passed his doctoral exams in Italian Renaissance art history at Rutgers University.

  • Amy Cymbala ('05) has also finished her master's at University of Pittsburgh in Italian Baroque art history. She is scheduled to take her doctoral exams next fall.

  • Robin Craren ('10), who graduated May 23, will be beginning the master's program in Italian Renaissance art history at Temple University in the fall.

  • Daphne Zencey ('10), who graduated May 23, has been accepted into the master's program in art history at Syracuse University.

Congratulations one and all.


Wolfgang MiederWolfgang Mieder, Professor of German, was recently elected to be a member in the PEN Centre for German Speaking Writers Abroad, which is a chapter of the International PEN. International PEN is headquartered in London and composed of 145 autonomous PEN Centres in 104 countries around the world, each of which are open to qualified writers, journalists, translators, historians and others actively engaged in any branch of literature, regardless of nationality, race, color or religion.


Dean Eleanor M. Miller was initiated as an honorary member of Phi Beta Kappa on Saturday, May 22 at 9:00 a.m. in Royall Tyler Theatre along with CAS students. According to the selection committee, the decision was unanimous. "A more richly deserving champion of the liberal arts does not exist on this campus!"  Congratulations!


Andrew TurgeonGeography graduate, Andrew Turgeon, class of '09 (who has spent the past year at National Geographic in Washington, D.C. as an intern, a highly competitive national position), was recently awarded the Andrew E. Nuquist Award for Outstanding Research on a Vermont Topic. Presented by the Center for Research on Vermont, Turgeon's project, "Young People's Place in Community: Cross-Examining Teenagers' Identities, Space and Social Differences in Southern Vermont," impressed the Award Committee for the quality of his writing, comprehensive analysis, and excellent treatment of an important Vermont theme. Mr. Turgeon has also been an active member of the Governor's Institute and has a long-standing interest in issues of rural youth out-migration from the state.


The Geology Department handed out honors and awards to the following students:

  • Maggie McMillan received the Arthur J. and Claire Heiser Joseph B. Tinker Memorial Grant. This grant goes to a deserving undergraduate geology major who has demonstrated both excellence in academic performance and activity in the UVM Geology Department community.   

  • Graham Hagen-Peter and Hal Earle shared the Charles G. Doll Award for most outstanding graduating senior in geology. 

  • Abigail O'Donnell and Sandra Cronauer were recipients of the David Bucke Award for Excellence in Introductory Geology which honors the highest grade point average in the Introductory Geology class. 

For more information on these awards, go to:


The Global and Regional Studies Department handed out honors and awards to the following:

Robert V. Daniels Award
The Global and Regional Studies Program is pleased to announce Professor George Moyser as the recipient of the 2010 Robert V. Daniels Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Field of International Studies.

Professor Moyser, Professor of Political Science, served as Chair of that department between 1997 and 2010. He also served as Director of UVM’s European Studies Program (1991-97), and as Liaison Officer for the UVM-Sussex University Exchange Program (1994-2006).

Professor Moyser received his B.A. from University of Manchester and M.A. from the University of Essex, both in England, and his Ph.D. from the University of Michigan. He joined the UVM faculty in 1987 as an already accomplished scholar. Professor Moyser is an internationally-recognized specialist in Western European comparative politics, focusing on political participation and the relationship between religion and politics. He retired this spring after 23 years at UVM.

Established in 2004 in honor of Professor Emeritus of History Robert V. "Bill" Daniels, the award celebrates the achievements of UVM's most distinguished scholars and teachers of international studies. Previous recipients include Professor Emeritus of History Robert V. Daniels (2004), Professor Emeritus of History William Metcalfe (2005), Professor Emeritus of Economics Abbas Alnasrawi (2006), Professor Emeritus of History Peter Seybolt (2007), Professor André Senécal (2008), and Professor Kevin McKenna (2009).

Sigma Iota Rho Honor Society for International Studies Inductees for 2010
Bailey Adie, Asian Studies
Rachel McNeil, Asian Studies
Kiren Lee, Latin American & Global Studies
Eileen Dirks, European Studies
Matthew Greene, European Studies
Samuel López-Barrantes, European Studies
Katherine McClintic, European Studies

Outstanding Graduating Senior in the European Studies Program
Matthew Greene
Samuel López-Barrantes

The Claire M. Lintilhac Memorial Award for Excellence in Asian Studies
Bailey Adie
Rachel McNeil


Last modified June 17 2010 12:38 PM