2005-06 Online Catalogue
Policies and General Information
Admitted Undergraduate Student Information
Acceptance Fee and Advance Tuition Deposits
To reserve a space in the class or semester admitted, students should send the Admissions Office an acceptance fee and advance tuition deposit for $300 made payable to The University of Vermont.
First-time first- and second-year students are required to live in on-campus housing. Students admitted under Early Decision commit to attending UVM and must pay the tuition deposit by January 15. Transfer candidates and all candidates admitted for the spring semester will have a payment deadline printed with their acceptance materials. Housing is not guaranteed for transfer students.
A full refund of the advance tuition deposit can be requested up to the payment deadline. After the payment deadline and up until the first day of classes, $100 of the payment is refundable.
Acceptance fee refunds will be given up until May 1 for students admitted for fall semester. Transfer students and students admitted for spring semester may receive a refund up to the payment deadline noted on the enrollment card.
All entering first-year students are required to attend a two-day orientation session in June. At Orientation, new UVM students meet with a faculty advisor, select first semester classes, and learn about living options in the residence halls. Information packets are mailed to incoming students' home addresses once they pay the acceptance fee and advance tuition deposit. Transfer students attend a session just prior to the beginning of the fall semester.
Transfer or first-year students entering in the spring semester receive information about a special spring orientation session once they pay the deposit.
First-time, first-year and second-year students are required to live in on-campus housing. Entering students explore living options at orientation and are allowed to list residence hall preferences. The Department of Residential Life mails room assignments prior to the beginning of each semester.
The academic advisor at Orientation helps prepare the first semester class schedule. First-year students entering fall semester register for classes at June Orientation. First-year students entering in the spring and transfer students entering either semester meet with an academic advisor at an Orientation session and may need to formally register for classes at that time.
Immunization and health history forms are sent directly to newly-admitted students and are due in the Center for Health and Well-being Student Health/Medical Clinic by June 30 of the year of entry. Vermont state law requires proof of two doses of live measles vaccine after the student's first birthday.