NASA Announces Education Research Program Award Recipients

Jane Hill and Darren Hitt Award Recipients

NASA has awarded approximately $19 million to colleges and universities nationwide to conduct research and technology development in areas of importance to NASA's mission. In addition, the awards enable faculty development and higher education student support.

The selections are part of NASA's Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research, known as EPSCoR. The program is designed to assist states in establishing an academic research enterprise directed toward a long-term, self-sustaining and competitive capability that will contribute to its economic viability and development. The program helps develop partnerships between NASA research assets, academic institutions and industry. The selected proposals support all four of NASA's mission directorates: aeronautics, exploration systems, science and space operations.

A total of 27 proposals were selected from organizations in Alabama, Arkansas, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont and West Virginia.

Two proposals were selected from each of the following colleges and universities:

New Mexico State University
South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
University of Alabama In Huntsville
University of Nebraska at Omaha
University of Puerto Rico
University of Vermont & State Agricultural College
Wichita State University, Kansas

One proposal was selected from each of the following organizations:

College of Charleston, South Carolina
Louisiana Board of Regents Foundation
Montana State University
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
University of Hawaii Systems
University of Idaho
University of Mississippi
University of North Dakota
University of Northern Iowa
University of Oklahoma
University of Utah
Vanderbilt University
West Virginia University

Proposals were chosen through a merit-based, peer-reviewed competition. The maximum award is $750,000 for a 3-year period. A one-to-one match of funds is required for every NASA dollar awarded.

This program and the agency's other education programs support NASA's commitment to excellence in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, which will play a key role in preparing, inspiring, encouraging and nurturing the nation's future workforce.

For a list of project descriptions, click on "Selected Proposals" and look for "Competitive Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR)" or solicitation NNH09ZNE002C at: http://nspires.nasaprs.com .

For additional information about NASA's EPSCoR program, visit: www.nasa.gov/education/epscor .

For information about NASA's Education programs, visit: http://www.nasa.gov

Emerging Science