December 22, 2010

Secretary of State Deb Markowitz Presents the 2010 Democracy Awards

Vermont Secretary of State Deb Markowitz presented the 2010 Democracy Awards to seven Vermont citizens and organizations at a ceremony at the Vermont Statehouse on December 21.

"These awards honor people who have promoted the tenets of democracy in Vermont. Each of this year's recipients is a shining example of leadership in the democratic process," says Markowitz.

The National Association of Secretaries of State Medallion Award will be presented to Frank Bryan, University of Vermont professor and author; the Burlington Free Press; and John Cushing, Milton Town Clerk/Treasurer.

The Medallion Award was established by the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) in 2001 to honor individuals, groups, or organizations with a record of promoting the goals of NASS in one or more of the following areas: improving elections, with special emphasis on voter education and increasing voter participation; civic education, including the teaching, promotion, and study of this subject; and service to state government--specifically, as it relates to improving democracy in the state.

Frank Bryan, University of Vermont – Frank Bryan is considered an expert on Vermont politics, in particular Vermont's town meeting tradition. He has authored several books and publications, including the 2005 "All Those in Favor: Rediscovering the Secrets of Town Meeting and Community." Over the years he has been a vocal champion of Vermont local government and the town meeting tradition. In 2007 his testimony was instrumental in passing Act 124, making town meeting a holiday in Vermont.