State of Vermont Senate Chamber



Montpelier, Vermont

Senate Concurrent Resolution

By Senators Baruth, Ashe, Ayer, Benning, Bray, Campbell, Collins, Cummings, Doyle, Flory, Fox, French, Galbraith, Hartwell, Kitchel, Lyons, MacDonald, Mazza, McAllister, McCormack, Mullin, Nitka, Pollina, Rodgers, Sears, Snelling, Starr, Westman, White, and Zuckerman,

By Representatives Macaig of Williston, Fisher of Lincoln, Sharpe of Bristol, Bissonnette of Winooski, Botzow of Pownal, Branagan of Georgia, Cole of Burlington, Condon of Colchester, Cross of Winooski, Dakin of Chester, Devereux of Mount Holly, Donovan of Burlington, Fay of St. Johnsbury, Frank of Underhill, Head of South Burlington, Heath of Westford, Hooper of Montpelier, Jerman of Essex, Krebs of South Hero, Krowinski of Burlington, Lanpher of Vergennes, Lenes of Shelburne, Marek of Newfane, Martin of Springfield, McCormack of Burlington, McCullough of Williston, Myers of Essex, O'Brien of Richmond, O'Sullivan of Burlington, Peltz of Woodbury, Poirier of Barre City, Potter of Clarendon, Pugh of South Burlington, Rachelson of Burlington, Ram of Burlington, Russell of Rutland City, Spengler of Colchester, Sweaney of Windsor, Taylor of Barre City, Till of Jericho, Townsend of South Burlington, Turner of Milton, Van Wyck of Ferrisburgh, Webb of Shelburne, Wright of Burlington, and Yantachka of Charlotte,

S.C.R. 20. Senate concurrent resolution honoring University of Vermont Professor Frank Bryan for his extraordinary contributions to Vermont.

Whereas, University of Vermont Professor Frank Bryan is a distinguished academic whose scholarly achievements are epitomized in his appointment as the University of Vermont's John G. McCullough Professor of Political Science, and

Whereas, after growing up in Newbury, he graduated from St. Michael's College in 1963 and earned a master's degree at the University of Vermont in 1965 and a doctorate at the University of Connecticut in 1970, and

Whereas, Professor Frank Bryan is truly a citizen scholar as his appreciation of Vermont politics is rooted in a strong, personal, cultural affinity for and love of his home state as well as a superb mastery of the erudite elements of political science, and

Whereas, he has written extensively in the academic and general presses, and in books on state and local politics, including his 2004 seminal work *Real Democracy: The New England Town Meeting and How It Works*, which is based on three decades of empirical research, and

Whereas, Professor Frank Bryan is the recipient of many honors from the University of Vermont's faculty and students as well as special recognition from his professional colleagues who reside beyond the Green Mountains, and

Whereas, in 1986, he was awarded the Andrew E. Nuquist Town Government Award from the Vermont Leagues of Cities and Towns and more recently, in 2010, the National Association of Secretaries of State presented him with the organization's Medallion Award, and

Whereas, in the state at large, Professor Frank Bryan is a renowned Vermont civic educator and an unofficial spokesperson for the unique cultural and political life of Vermont that has historically been associated with our State, and

Whereas, Professor Frank Bryan is retiring from the University of Vermont faculty at the conclusion of the 2012–2013 academic year, but he will no doubt remain actively engaged as an observer of and commentator on the workings of the Vermont polity, now therefore be it

Resolved by the Senate and House of Representatives:

That the General Assembly honors University of Vermont Professor Frank Bryan for his extraordinary contributions to Vermont as a scholar and citizen proponent of Vermont democracy, *and be it further*

Resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send a copy of this resolution to Professor Frank Bryan at the University of Vermont.